Brunch at the Kitchen Garden Café

As I have had essays, uni work and just quite a lot going on, unfortunately I haven’t really had the chance to go out for cocktails so much 😦  but that doesn’t mean that I still can’t go out during the daytime for a quick bite to eat here and there. Yesterday I went for brunch at the Kitchen Garden Café in Kings Heath. Kings Heath never really comes to mind when I’m thinking about heading out for lunch as the high street tends to be awash with all the usual chain places: Costa, Big Johns, Greggs etc. – not really my cup of tea. However, on the side roads there are a few hidden gems like the Kitchen Garden Cafe, which are definitely worth exploring.

I’d heard and read quite a few things about this place as it often appears on blogs about where to have brunch/lunch in Birmingham, plus there are plenty of veggie options for those of you who are vegetarian, so there is something for everyone. Hidden away on York Road, it is literally is as the name states: a ‘Kitchen Garden’, as it’s a Garden shop with a café at the back, making it a lovely location for a coffee and a spot of brunch. After walking through the shop and wondering if you are actually in the right place, you’ll find yourself in a little garden oasis surrounding by plants, flowers and all things green and organic. We sat inside (the weather doesn’t really allow for al fresco dining) but I can imagine then when it is a little bit warmer, it would be the perfect place to have a coffee with the sun shining down on you (wishful thinking with the sun). However, inside was just as nice, with a cute garden shed-type décor with wooden tables, fairy lights dotted around and with a view that looked onto the beautiful brick courtyard. And, with a menu full of yummy food, all freshly prepared with fresh ingredients and a wide selection of veggie and gluten free options, you can’t really go wrong for a spot of brunch.

I went for an avocado brunch (trying to be healthy) which came on “ciabatta” (they ran out of ciabatta so I had wholemeal toast instead), smoked salmon and a poached egg, and although it was nice I did feel that it was a bit overpriced for the size of the portion, at £7.95 it probably would have been worth me getting an all-day breakfast for just a pound extra – the struggles of trying to be healthy! They have a varied brunch and normal menu with plenty of choice, and as the place was pretty packed, I’m sure that the food is pretty good.

It’s not only food they do here too, looking around the place and having a quick browse online, they also have live music, adult book readings and a ‘Come Vinyl with Me’ event where you become the dj, bringing your own records and having 10 minutes on the deck, so a place that does both: lunch time dining and evening entertainment. Some of these events are held at their sister venue, Fletcher’s Bar and it’s definitely worth checking out their website for details of all the events if you’re looking an alternative night out.

The Kitchen Garden Café is a trendy, unique setting hidden away in Kings Heath, with great service and good food it makes a perfect place for a spot of lunch, especially if you want to avoid going into the city centre. Although it wasn’t my usual cocktails ‘n’ curls, I think I can make the exception and go for coffee ‘n’ curls now and again – I’m sure my body and my bank statement will thank me for it later.

http://www.kitchengardencafe.co.uk/

 

2 thoughts on “Brunch at the Kitchen Garden Café

Leave a Reply

