Fallen Angel: Devilishly Delightful

Last time me and my cousin met up I ended up home at 3am in the morning, missing the following day of lectures and regretting the copious amounts of wine consumed the night before. So, when we decided to meet up again this week we both decided that it would be best to go for a tea, in the afternoon and somewhere where there isn’t a chance we can order a bottle of prosecco. Our location of choice: Fallen Angel on Harborne High street.

I love going for tea or coffee and cake as much as I love going out for cocktails and with so many great independent coffee shops dotted around the city there are so many places to explore. I also much prefer going to an independent place rather than a chain as the quality of food and drink is usually better, you’re helping out a local business and the décor and general style of the place tends to be more original and quirky. Fallen Angel is no exception to this and with the wide selection of homemade cupcakes on display, it’s hard to walk past without popping in for something devilishly delicious.

This time, I opted for a green tea and white chocolate cupcake whilst my cousin went for a normal tea with a red velvet cupcake. I’m no expert on baking but I do know when something tastes good and these were just yummy: light enough to not make you feel sick but with enough flavour and creamy icing to make you feel slightly naughty for having a cupcake rather than the piece of fruit at the bottom of your bag.  The staff are always so friendly and with the cupcakes and food freshly prepared upstairs and such a wide variety of delicately decorated cakes with gluten free options as well, it’s obvious that a lot of love and affection goes into the running of the business.

I’ve also been here for lunch where I had a grilled halloumi toastie which was just as nice as the cakes and probably better value for money (The toasties were £3.95 and cupcakes are about £2.50 upwards if I’m not mistaken). I’m not going to sugar coat things, it probably is a bit overpriced , our bill came to £9 for just tea and cake, but tbf I think mentally I’m still in Italy where I’d pay 60 cent for a coffee and €1.50 for a delicious pastry (sorry UK there just is nowhere that does food quite like Italy).  However saying that, the prices are in line with other coffee shops in the area, and I’d much rather go here than to a chain coffee shop.

So, if you do happen to be on Harborne High Street and want to go somewhere where there is no temptation of alcohol but plenty of sugary alternatives to leave your mouth watering, then head to Fallen Angel for something devilishly good, that hopefully won’t leave you with a hangover the next day.

http://www.fallenangelbakery.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

