Staying Local for Lunch: Guild Street Kitchen

Even though I’m in my final year at University and I’m currently swamped with essays, exams, and a pile of never ending work, I still like to keep up to date with what’s going on around the University, especially when It concerns food (BTW I go to University of Birmingham). So when I heard about Guild Street Kitchen, I couldn’t wait to check it out! Located in the Guild of Students, Guild Street Kitchen showcases a different selection of yummy street food each day. They also always have a vegetarian/vegan and gluten-free options so that there is something for everyone.

This time I decided to go for a Cajun chicken with pineapple accompanied with some pilau rice, and for £3.50 for a regular size box and £5 for a large box it’s reasonably priced too – perfect if you want some good grub on a student budget. Now I’m not going to lie it’s not gourmet food and I don’t think it will challenge the more established street dining places around the city but for the price and the food (I did find it tastier that I expected), it makes a great place for a spot of lunch on campus and beats a soggy overpriced sandwich from Spa any day!

If you’ve read my previous blogs you’ve probably figured out that I’m not a fan of chain places and one thing that annoys me about being down at Uni is that there are no decent food places, and the coffee shops are either Costa, or Costa or Costa (there’s also a Starbucks too). So I LOVE the fact that the Guild have started this new venture and are offering something different and quirky to what is already around on campus. Like the City, UoB is diverse, multicultural and exciting and I think it’s only right that all the different cultures that we have across campus can be represented through the beauty that is food.

So if you’re a student at UoB, I recommend that you check this out and if you’re not then there’s nothing wrong with popping onto to campus to try it out, plus if you have never been to the University of Birmingham campus it’s worth having a little trip down there and walking through the grounds as it is stunning. If you have never explored the campus, it’s worth noting that there is also the Barber Institute of Fine Arts for Art Lovers and Winterbourne house up the road. The Uni is not just for students and academics and I think it’s one of the things checking out if you do happen to be in Brum.

16935613_1431244103587719_1517134250_o

Leave a Reply

