Controlling the Curls

Considering my blog is called Cocktail n Curls, it seems only necessary to write a post about my naturally curly hair.

I have had the biggest love/hate relationship with my hair, and I’d say up until about 6 months ago I hated it 95% of the time – it’s thick, it’s frizzy and takes FOREVER to style. I hated my hair so much and I have cried so much over it and even wanted to cancel my plans because I haven’t wanted to leave the house because I thought it was that bad (I know it sounds stupid but anyone with thick, unruly, frizzy hair will understand).

sheep hair

For the past 10 years I have been blow drying my hair and straightening it every day and probably causing too much damage for my own good. At the hairdressers I’d ask for it to be poker straight and hate having to wash it again after as I know I would never get it back to the silky smooth style that they so effortlessly managed to do. I envied people who had hair that would naturally dry straight and who didn’t end up looking like Chewbacca when a drop of rain hit their hair.

However, since summer last year I’ve developed a better relationship with my hair and although I don’t quite love it 95% of the time, I’d say I’m happy with it 65% of the time, which is a big achievement for me. When I was in Santiago de Compostela on a summer language course last year I decided to take the plunge and leave it natural. I was actually pleasantly surprised at how it turned it, ok I still had to straighten the front to stop it looking like dreadlocks but it wasn’t as bad as I was anticipating.

17200853_1443149415730521_1818212481_o

Fast forward 9 months and I now leave my hair natural on a regular basis (not every day that would be pushing it but I try to leave it natural at least once a week). I can already notice how it’s in better condition as I’m not burning every strand to death each day like I used to. It’s all about using the right products and although I’m not a hair expert, I do love twisted sista hair serum from Superdrug to really define those curls. I also would be lost without my Lee Stafford diffuser which gives my hair plenty of volume without making it knotty or frizzy.

It’s also a big thanks to Jill and Lawson over at Bliss & Bliss, the fabulous mother and son duo who always make sure my hair looks great. You can check them out here.

I’m still a way off from completely embracing my natural curls but I’m certainly getting better. And if it wasn’t for those curls I’d probably still be thinking for a blog name . . .

Leave a Reply

