Fine Dining at Lasan

For a while I have wanted to eat at Lasan, it is always featuring as one of the best restaurants in Birmingham – it even won Gordan Ramsay’s F word best local restaurant and has frequent celebrity diners, I mean if its good enough for Gordon Ramsay and Gary Barlow it is certainly good enough for me.

Lasan takes fine dining to a new level. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff who couldn’t do enough for us, and really spoiled us – that’s another thing that I love about going to nice restaurants is having a true dining experience right from the moment you are greeted, you are made to feel special and that you are the staff’s top priority. We didn’t opt for starters (we had just had a G&T slushie ;)) but were bought around an amuse-bouche which was spiced chickpeas in a pastry base and with a selection of sauces and poppadoms. This really got our mouths watering and we were really looking forward to our mains. . .

We both went for a curry, I mean what else was I going to order in an Indian restaurant? I opted for Mysori Khatta Jhinga which was king prawns, wilted greens, coconut milk tempered with curry leaves flavoured with green mango and my friend went for Kukkar Makhani, which is a Punjabi style chicken tikka marinated in light tangy tomato, honey and cashew nut makhani sauce. To accompany these, we ordered some rice and naan bread. Safe to say, the food at Lasan definitely lives up to all the hype and fantastic reviews that it has received. The prawns were thick and meaty and had such an exquisite taste, combined with the beautiful flavours of the curry itself. My friend assured me that her meal was delicious in fact I don’t think she said a word while she was eating – always a good sign as we normally never shut up. We were also both pleasantly surprised with our portion sizes, often with high-end restaurants you can expect tiny dishes that may be tasty but they don’t always leave you full.

lasan

The portions were fair sized enough so that we had a decent serving to satisfy us and still leave room for dessert.  There was also a tempting selection of desserts and after much deliberation I finally decided on a panna cotta that came with coconut ice cream whilst by friend went for some serious indulgence with a cumin chocolate fudge cake. The desserts were beautifully presented (see pictures) and If it was acceptable to lick the plate I would have done, I was literally clinging on to every spoonful to really make it last.

dessert chocolate fudge

When the bill came it worked out at £35 a head, which although maybe a bit more than what you would pay elsewhere, for the quality of food, the service and a restaurant with a reputation like Lasan I thought it wasn’t too bad a price (of course we didn’t have drinks).

Overall, Lasan did not disappoint and I can’t wait to come back here. If you are considering Lasan for some top notch grub then booking is essential, in fact if you’re sat reading this now I recommend you checking out their menu and booking a table immediately. I’m already counting day the days until I go back . . .

Leave a Reply

