Gradballin’ at Gusto

Four years of uni have finally come to an end and what better way to celebrate than by going to your graduation ball with all your friends. Like many people we decided against eating at the uni and decided to head to a restaurant first, naturally my friends asked me for my suggestions (I mean I’d be slightly offended if they didn’t, I don’t write this blog for nothing). After a lot of thought and several suggestions we decided on Gusto in Colmore Row. I had eaten here once before Christmas when it had first opened and enjoyed my food there, and with a good selection of food and drink and not overly pricey it was a good choice all around.

glass of prosecco

Gusto is a very stylish and elegant restaurant in the heart of Colmore row making it the perfect place to get some good pictures after – better than amongst the wheelie bins and fly tipping of Selly Oak.

As Italian students it would be rude not to order a bottle of prosecco to get our night started. When it came to the food we decided to continue with the Italian theme and go for pasta, I went for garganelli primavera which was lovely and creamy, while my friends went for handmade artichoke tortellini and the mushroom risotto. We also had a side order of fried courgettes and truffle chips, just in case the pasta wasn’t filling enough. Safe to say the food was tasty as we left with 5 empty plates and 5 satisfied stomachs.

food gusto

Tempting as the dessert menu was, in true student style we opted for another drink instead. And as it’s our Grad Ball, a classy cocktail was in order, cue a photoshoot for us all to get an Instagram worthy photo with our glass (see mine below – if you haven’t already on snapchat/instagram/facebook). I went for an elderflower and grapefruit spritz which was deliciously refreshing and at 7.50 not too pricey for a decent cocktail.

me gradball

As graduation is coming up and a few people have been asking me about restaurants to take their family for a meal after, for somewhere that is stylish, modern with a good selection of food then I would definitely recommend Gusto. Plus it is in such a beautiful part of Birmingham, that it would be rude not to pay it a visit before heading back to your home town.

Leave a Reply

