Pickled Piglet: Perfect Weekday Meal

This month I’m doing an internship in the Jewellery Quarter which means it is the perfect excuse for me to go for food and drinks after work (not like I ever needed an excuse to go out for food), so you can be expecting quite a few blog posts coming up over the next few weeks of restaurants in and around the Jewellery Quarter/City Centre. Last week I decided to meet my friend in town and we headed to the Pickled Piglet on Gas Street. I had heard quite a lot about this place, it’s not always the first place that people may think to go for food but anyone who has gone there always has great things to say about it.

The menu serves up British classics and has the option for sharing platters and small tapas size dishes, a British tapas if you like. Anyone who know me knows how much I love tapas and the concept of sharing food so eating here was always going to be a win-win situation.

We decided on a sharing sea food platter, and then two small dishes of wild boar and pickled shimeji mushrooms and a selection of bread and olives. The sea food platter was AMAZING and if you love fish then I would definitely recommend it. There was two good size portions of salmon, sea trout as well as haddock fish cakes, mackerel pate and a kind of squid prawn cracker (I think it was squid, I can’t remember but either way it was delicious). Accompanied with two glasses of white wine and good company, this really was a brilliant weekday meal.

What was also great about our visit to the Pickled Piglet was the service, it really makes a difference when the waiter/waitress is knowledgeable about the food and attentive to every detail. Our waitress was fantastic, checking up on us, asking how we found the food and genuinely just demonstrating excellent customer service which is so important when you go out for food.

The Pickled Piglet has shot up my list as good places for food in Birmingham and hearing that they also have a sister restaurant in the Jewellery Quarter, the Pig & Tail, has got me excited to try it out one day after work. So watch this space as I’m sure it won’t be long before I’m tucking into some good grub either back at the Pickled Piglet of at the Pig & Tail.

Check them out here. 

Leave a Reply

