Pizza and Seahorses: Sunday at the Ikon Gallery

Instead of just going out for food and a few drinks, last Sunday my friend and I decided to be cultured and head to the IKon gallery in Brindley Place. I’ve wanted to go to the Icon gallery for a while to check out all the interesting contemporary art they have on display, actually let’s rephrase that, ‘I’ve wanted to go to the Icon gallery for a while because I really want to eat at Yorks café’.

inside yorks

So before checking out the art, we went to Yorks for food, I’d heard good things about the one that is by grand central so I was excited to try this one. The one in the Icon gallery is cosy and cute and serves up some good food to boot. It has a lovely little outside terrace but seeing as it was raining we sat inside. When deciding what to have there was one clear choice: The pizza. I’d seen a few come out of the kitchen for other people and my mouth was watering so much I just had to order one. We both went for a classic margherita which was absolutely delicious and almost on a par with a pizza you can get in Italy.

pizza at yorks with ana

Their brunch menu also looked yummy and I’m already counting down the days until I can return to check it out.

After our filling pizza we did actually decide to go and have a look around the gallery. If you’re unfamiliar with the Icon gallery it is a contemporary gallery in a grade II  listed building, they have different exhibitions that change every couple of months. Now I’m not really one for contemporary art (I just don’t get it), but reading the information put together on the exhibitors and their work makes things a little bit easier to understand and appreciate. I mean who knew that watching a video of seahorses give birth could be so captivating?

Ikon

The gallery is free all they ask is for a voluntary contribution of £3 so If you fancy spending a rainy afternoon watching a seahorse give birth and other unexplainable arty things then spend some time at the Icon gallery, making sure you stop at Yorks for a coffee and some good grub.

Leave a Reply

